Agency financing · term sheets checked October 31, 2026

Fannie Mae MAH financing for LIHTC deals

Fannie Mae finances tax credit properties through its Multifamily Affordable Housing (MAH) line. For a 9% deal the main tool is an unfunded forward commitment: a fixed-rate permanent loan locked for 36 months, up to 90% LTV at 1.15x DSCR, funded once the property hits 90% occupancy for 90 days. For 4% bond deals Fannie Mae uses M.TEB, bond credit enhancement and a 4% forward, with LTV and DSCR set by how many units are restricted. Every term below is from Fannie Mae's own term sheets, linked under each table.

ExecutionDealMax LTVMin DSCRTermAmortization
9% forward9% new construction or rehab90%1.15x10-30 yrs35 yrs
4% forward4% bond deal90% / 85% / 80%1.15x / 1.20x10-30 yrs35 yrs
M.TEB4% bonds, new or refunding90% / 85% / 80%1.15x / 1.20x10-30 yrs35 yrs
Bond credit enhancement4% bondssame as M.TEBsame as M.TEB10-30 yrs35 yrs
PreservationExisting restricted, incl. expiring LIHTC80%1.20x5-30 yrs35 yrs

The 90% / 85% / 80% tiers: at least 90% of units affordable, fewer than 90%, and refundings. From Fannie Mae term sheets read October 31, 2026. Fannie Mae's PDFs carry no revision date, so each is dated by its file. Terms change without notice; the lender's commitment governs.

Unfunded Forward Commitment, 9% LIHTC

Permanent loan locked before construction for 9% LIHTC new construction or substantial rehab, including preservation and rural deals. Funded as an MBS at conversion.

RateFixed
Forward lock36 months, one delegated 6-month extension
Standby fee10 bps, paid upfront before rate lock
Good faith deposit1% of the commitment, refundable at conversion
ConversionProject complete, certificates of occupancy for all units, 90% occupancy for 90 consecutive days, meets underwriting
Term / amortization10 to 30 years / up to 35 years
Max LTV / min DSCR90% / 1.15x
Delivery tolerance90% to 105% of the commitment, within LTV and DSCR limits
OtherSecond lien delivery assurance note if Fannie Mae or the bond investor requires it
Prepayment, recourse, loan sizeNot stated on the term sheet

Source: Unfunded Forward Commitment, 9% LIHTC term sheet (PDF created February 9, 2026).

Unfunded Forward Commitment, 4% LIHTC

Forward commitment for 4% bond deals, delivered through M.TEB (Fannie MBS as bond collateral) or an 80/20 execution.

RateFixed or variable
Forward lock36 months, up to two delegated 6-month extensions
Standby fee15 bps per year, paid upfront before rate lock
Good faith deposit1%, refundable at conversion
Construction periodM.TEB bonds cash-collateralized by a side-by-side construction loan and bond loan; the MBS becomes bond collateral at conversion
ConversionSame as the 9% sheet: completion, certificates of occupancy, 90% occupancy for 90 consecutive days, underwriting
Term / amortization10 to 30 years / up to 35 years
Max LTV90% if at least 90% of units meet affordability requirements; 85% if fewer; 80% for refundings
Min DSCR1.15x; 1.20x for refundings and for deals under the 90% affordability tier
Delivery toleranceUp to 110% of the commitment, within LTV and DSCR limits
Costs of issuanceM.TEB can reimburse certain costs of issuance, up to 75 bps

Fannie's product page for this execution describes some terms differently from the term sheet (a 24- to 36-month lock, up to 54 months on qualifying deals, up to 40-year amortization, a $3 million minimum, non-recourse). The figures above are the term sheet's; confirm with the lender which applies.

Source: Unfunded Forward Commitment, 4% LIHTC term sheet (PDF created February 9, 2026).

M.TEB, fixed rate (MBS as tax-exempt bond collateral)

New fixed-rate bond issues with 4% LIHTC, or refundings. Immediate delivery or standby forward.

Term / amortization10 to 30 years / 35 years
Max LTV / min DSCRSame tiers as the 4% forward: 90%, 85% or 80% (refundings); 1.15x or 1.20x
PrepaymentYield maintenance or declining premium
RecourseNon-recourse, with carve-outs for bad acts
Subordinate debtHard debt only from public, quasi-public or nonprofit lenders, combined DSCR at least 1.05x; soft debt payments capped at 75% of cash flow
FeesIssuer and trustee fees included in sizing, paid by the borrower
OtherFannie Mae form indenture; a single bondholder may hold the MBS directly, but not before the placed-in-service date on 4% LIHTC deals

Source: M.TEB, fixed rate (MBS as tax-exempt bond collateral) term sheet (PDF created January 8, 2026).

Tax-Exempt Bond Credit Enhancement

Credit enhancement of tax-exempt bonds for properties with 4% LIHTC rent restrictions: new money, refundings or substitutions. Rated AA+.

RateFixed
Term / amortization10 to 30 years (at least 15 for new construction or substantial rehab) / 35 years
Max LTV / min DSCRSame tiers as M.TEB
Prepayment"Flexible"
RecourseNon-recourse; issued under a reimbursement agreement

Source: Tax-Exempt Bond Credit Enhancement term sheet (PDF created January 8, 2026).

Taxable tail with M.TEB or a credit enhancement instrument

A taxable loan alongside the bonds on 4% LIHTC or recycled-bond immediate fundings (two term sheets, added October 29, 2026).

Minimum tail$1,000,000
Good faith deposit1% of the combined lock
Term / amortization10 to 30 years / 35 years, or 40 with approval
RateFixed
PrepaymentYield maintenance on both pieces with M.TEB; with a credit enhancement instrument, fee maintenance on that piece
StructureOne mortgage, two notes, two MBS, cross-defaulted (M.TEB version)

Source: Taxable tail with M.TEB or a credit enhancement instrument term sheet (PDF created October 29, 2026); Taxable tail with credit enhancement instrument term sheet (PDF created October 29, 2026).

Affordable Housing Preservation

Stabilized rent-restricted properties, including expiring LIHTC deals, existing bond refinancings, RAD, Section 8 HAP, Section 515 and Sections 202/236.

RateFixed or variable
Term / amortization5 to 30 years / 35 years
Max LTV / min DSCR80% / 1.20x (fixed rate)
RestrictionsRecorded: 20% of units at or below 50% AMI, or 40% at or below 60% AMI, or Section 8 on at least 20%
PrepaymentYield maintenance or declining premium
Rate lock / recourse30 to 180 days / non-recourse

Source: Affordable Housing Preservation term sheet (PDF created January 8, 2026).

Standard FHA Risk Sharing

Fannie Mae and HUD share the risk; restrictions must last the full loan term. Immediate or forward.

Loan sizeNo minimum or maximum; HUD consent above $50 million
Term / amortization15 to 40 years / full amortization up to 40 years; balloons capped at 30-year amortization
Max LTV / min DSCRUp to 90% as stabilized / 1.15x to 1.20x
Rate / lockFixed / 30 to 180 days
OtherSubsidy layering review where federal law requires it; non-recourse

Source: Standard FHA Risk Sharing term sheet (PDF created January 8, 2026).

What the term sheets don't say

None of Fannie Mae's LIHTC term sheets set out how restricted rents are underwritten, what happens at Year 15, or the investor and regulatory agreement requirements beyond recording; those come from the DUS Guide and the lender. The 9% forward sheet does not state prepayment, recourse or a loan size range. Pricing is never on a term sheet. Compare with Freddie Mac's TAH loans, and see how agency debt fits the rest of the deal in permanent loans and forward commitments.

Sizing check: the supportable debt calculator takes your DSCR and LTV, and the capital stack builder shows the gap it leaves.

Questions people ask

What is Fannie Mae MAH?

Multifamily Affordable Housing, Fannie Mae's product line for rent-restricted properties. For LIHTC deals it offers unfunded forward commitments for 4% and 9% deals, M.TEB (Fannie MBS as collateral for tax-exempt bonds), tax-exempt bond credit enhancement, taxable tails, FHA Risk Sharing and a preservation loan for existing restricted properties. Loans are made through Fannie Mae's DUS lenders.

How long can a Fannie Mae LIHTC forward commitment run?

The term sheets say 36 months, with one delegated 6-month extension on the 9% forward and up to two on the 4% forward. Fannie's 4% product page also mentions up to 54 months on qualifying transactions, so ask the lender which applies.

What LTV and DSCR does Fannie Mae use on LIHTC loans?

On the 9% forward, 90% LTV and 1.15x DSCR. On 4% bond executions, 90% LTV and 1.15x when at least 90% of units meet affordability requirements, 85% LTV and 1.20x when fewer do, and 80% LTV and 1.20x for refundings. The preservation loan for existing restricted properties is 80% and 1.20x.

Does Fannie Mae finance properties after Year 15?

Its Affordable Housing Preservation term sheet names expiring LIHTC deals among eligible properties, with recorded restrictions of at least 20% of units at 50% of AMI, 40% at 60%, or Section 8 on 20%. A resyndication with new 4% credits would use the bond executions instead.

Pricing a Fannie Mae forward or M.TEB?

Janover Capital compares agency, FHA and bank executions for 4% and 9% deals.

Get a financing quote