State · LIHTC 2026
LIHTC in Alabama: 2026 allocations, QAP and data
Alabama Housing Finance Authority (AHFA) allocates Alabama's housing tax credits. The population-based part of Alabama's 2026 9% credit ceiling, before carryforwards and returned credits, is $17,739,589. That is $3.416 times 5,193,088 residents. Its 2026 private activity bond cap, which 4% deals compete for, is $701,066,880 ($135 per person).
Agency and qualified allocation plan
| Allocating agency | Alabama Housing Finance Authority (AHFA) |
|---|---|
| Tax credit program page | AHFA LIHTC page |
| Current QAP | AHFA 2026 Housing Credit Qualified Allocation Plan (2026) |
| QAP status | 2026 QAP adopted June 18, 2025 (PDF: ahfa.atl1.cdn.digitaloceanspaces.com link). 2027 QAP adopted June 10, 2026: ahfa.atl1.cdn.digitaloceanspaces.com link |
Agency and QAP links checked 2026-10-30.
2026 credit ceiling and bond cap
| Item | 2026 | Per resident |
|---|---|---|
| Population (IRS Notice 2026-22) | 5,193,088 | 24th of 52 |
| 9% ceiling, population amount | $17,739,589 | $3.42 |
| Formula | greater of $3.416 × pop or $3,953,600 | per-capita applies |
| Private activity bond cap | $701,066,880 | $135.00 |
| Formula | greater of $135 × pop or $397,625,000 | per-capita applies |
Sources: IRS Rev. Proc. 2025-32 secs. 4.08 and 4.19 (the 9% amounts already include the 12% increase from Pub. L. 119-21 sec. 70422); IRS Notice 2026-22 (2026-15 I.R.B.). Computed by us and rounded to the dollar; agencies may round differently.
Only the population amount is shown. The full 2026 ceiling adds credits unused from 2025, credits returned by projects and any share of the national pool, which the agency reports in its allocation materials. See every state side by side on the 2026 ceilings and bond caps table.
Basis boost areas: 2027 QCTs and DDAs
HUD's 2027 lists, which apply from January 1, 2027, put 316 Alabama census tracts in qualified census tracts, spread across 54 counties. 1 nonmetropolitan county is a difficult development area. In metro areas, 8 ZIP code areas (ZCTAs) are Small Area DDAs. A building in either can take 130% of eligible basis. Check an address with the QCT and DDA lookup.
| County | 2027 QCT tracts |
|---|---|
| Jefferson County | 71 |
| Mobile County | 37 |
| Madison County | 22 |
| Montgomery County | 20 |
| Tuscaloosa County | 15 |
Nonmetro DDA counties: Chambers County.
Metro areas with Small Area DDAs: Birmingham-Hoover, AL HUD Metro FMR Area; Chilton County, AL HUD Metro FMR Area; Huntsville, AL MSA; Macon County, AL HUD Metro FMR Area; Montgomery, AL MSA; Pickens County, AL HUD Metro FMR Area.
Every Alabama qualified census tract, with its population, poverty rate and median income, is on the Alabama QCT list by county.
Source: HUD 2027 QCT and DDA designations, FR Doc. 2026-20390 (91 FR 63573, Oct. 6, 2026).
Tax credit properties in Alabama
HUD's database lists 544 Alabama properties financed with housing tax credits that the allocating agency still monitors, with 29,883 income-restricted units. The largest city totals are below; see all cities on the Alabama apartments page.
| City | Properties | Restricted units |
|---|---|---|
| Birmingham | 29 | 2,813 |
| Montgomery | 31 | 2,453 |
| Mobile | 25 | 2,338 |
| Huntsville | 22 | 1,786 |
| Tuscaloosa | 17 | 1,314 |
| Selma | 12 | 673 |
| Decatur | 8 | 543 |
| Athens | 7 | 421 |
| Theodore | 5 | 417 |
| Robertsdale | 7 | 388 |
| County | Properties | Restricted units |
|---|---|---|
| Jefferson County | 37 | 3,189 |
| Mobile County | 35 | 3,120 |
| Montgomery County | 31 | 2,453 |
| Madison County | 26 | 2,028 |
| Baldwin County | 26 | 1,601 |
| Tuscaloosa County | 21 | 1,579 |
| Morgan County | 14 | 764 |
| Lee County | 11 | 665 |
| Dallas County | 11 | 637 |
| Marshall County | 13 | 586 |
For buyers and lenders: the Alabama Year 15 and Year 30 list shows which of these properties reach the end of the compliance period or the 30-year extended use minimum from 2022 to 2034, by county.
Source: HUD's national LIHTC database (LIHTCPUB, revised May 28, 2026; projects placed in service through 2024). City pages cover cities with at least five properties; county links go to that county's 2026 income and rent limits.
Financing a LIHTC deal in Alabama
A 9% deal in Alabama competes for AHFA's 2026 ceiling of $17,739,589 (population amount) under the AHFA 2026 Housing Credit Qualified Allocation Plan. A 4% deal needs an award from the state's $701,066,880 private activity bond cap: tax-exempt bonds must finance 50% of the aggregate basis of the building and land, or at least 25% if one or more of those bonds, from an issue dated after December 31, 2025, together finance at least 5% of that basis (the 25% bond test, for buildings placed in service in taxable years beginning after December 31, 2025). Sites in Alabama's 316 qualified census tracts for 2027 can take the 130% basis boost.
On HUD's records for the 317 Alabama properties on this site's city pages, 8% of those reporting the field were financed with tax-exempt bonds and 91% took 9% (70% present value) credits; 23 received allocations in 2015 or later.
Sources: IRS Rev. Proc. 2025-32; HUD 2027 QCT list; HUD's national LIHTC database (LIHTCPUB, revised May 28, 2026; projects placed in service through 2024), bond and credit-type fields. What to read in a QAP: state LIHTC programs. Sizing a Alabama deal: get a financing quote.
State housing tax credit
Yes. Alabama Workforce Housing Tax Credit, Act No. 2024-302 (enacted May 9, 2024). Administered by AHFA under its WHTC Policy; awarded with multifamily bond deals. Cap not stated on page. (primary source)
More Alabama data
- Alabama 2026 income and rent limitsby county
- Alabama tax credit apartmentsby city
- Alabama QCTs and DDAs2027 lists by county
- Year 15 and Year 30 propertiesby county
- QCT and DDA lookupby address
- Monthly credit ratesIRS
- LIHTC in Wyomingprevious
- LIHTC in Alaskanext
- All statescompare
Questions people ask
How much 9% LIHTC does Alabama get in 2026?
The population part of Alabama's 2026 housing credit ceiling is $17,739,589: the greater of $3.416 per resident or $3,953,600, applied to the 5,193,088 population in IRS Notice 2026-22. The agency's actual 2026 authority also adds unused and returned credits and any national pool share, so its own published figure can be higher.
Who allocates housing tax credits in Alabama?
Alabama Housing Finance Authority (AHFA). It awards 9% credits under its qualified allocation plan (AHFA 2026 Housing Credit Qualified Allocation Plan, 2026) and sets the rules 4% bond deals must meet to receive credits.
Does Alabama have a state low-income housing tax credit?
Yes. Alabama Workforce Housing Tax Credit, Act No. 2024-302 (enacted May 9, 2024). Administered by AHFA under its WHTC Policy; awarded with multifamily bond deals. Cap not stated on page.
Financing a Alabama tax credit deal?
Construction, bond, bridge-to-equity and permanent debt for Alabama 4% and 9% deals.